The Problem With Cheapskates

I had a slight level of insanity today. Consider the following situations:

1. That Red Flag day

2. Back to back to back to back patients at the “racket” job

3. Late 4 pm lunch

4. Superbly awesome headache

I was supposed to write a longer post about Cotton On’s grand opening and I had several items picked out from the Australian website. As I was going to Flickr to upload the photos, a very HAPPY message greeted me:

Hey clairepretty! About your photostream…

You have 178 photos stored on Flickr. Once you hit 200, you’ll need to upgrade to a Flickr Pro account or you’ll only be able to see your most recent 200 photos.

Upgrade now

Nothing will be deleted, and if you upgrade, you’ll have unlimited space for all your things. Perhaps you’d like to upgrade to Pro now?

What?!!! So goodbye to all the pictures that I posted because I wouldnt be able to view them?!

So I looked at the Flickr Pro rates, because maybe I can afford them. But sadly this is what I found out:

Choose from three different renewal periods:

 3 months ($6.95)

1 year ($24.95, Save $2.85!)

2 years ($44.95, Save $10.65!)

CANNOT. AFFORD.

I tried going back to WordPress to try to find out if their prices in upgrading to Pro is more affordable.

WordPress Value Bundle (more info)

1 year subscription

Remove from Cart

  • Domain Name & Mapping
  • 10GB Space Upgrade
  • No Ads
  • Custom Design
  • VideoPress

$99.00

NOT! Value bundle?!

In despair, I considered switching to another platform. But I am already happy with WordPress as it is by itself an online community, I have friends here and I can manage multiple blogs. Buti nalang I am pacified by this!

I have a free account. Some of my photos aren’t showing up. Why?

On a free account, Flickr limits the number of photos displayed.

If you have fewer than 200 photos, we display them all. If you have more than 200 photos, only the most recent 200 are displayed.

Your photos are not removed from Flickr, only from the list of your photos. If you blogged a photo and it no longer appears in your list, it will still appear on your blog, and the photo’s Flickr page will still work just fine.

Source: http://www.flickr.com/help/limits/

Whew! So on with WordPress blogging!

I know somehow the blogging elders will frown in disappointment, saying that the right thing to do is buy your own domain for ultimate blogging freedom. As much as I am into shopping and buying, its a little too much for self expression at the moment. Staying “free” will keep me in the right frame of mind that this is not a popularity contest or a business, but a personal diary for now. I will continue to write for myself.  Although  we never know what this blog can do, right?

Woe to cyber cheapskates like me!

4 thoughts on “The Problem With Cheapskates

Leave a Reply

