Up on the Wall

I have always loved writing, which I think brings me back to why I started this blog. I have very few writing stints, the first one being 7 or 8 years old when I wrote for my mom’s office newletter. Aside from a few articles here and there, its mostly for my own enjoyment.

There are things that I consider my “earnings” in putting up this blog. I dont get sponsors, but I did gain a good friend.

Maco Custodio has been in several blog entries since the time I interviewed him for last year’s Manila Fame. A few months after, I tagged along with my friend Nio for Maco’s S/S 2013 photoshoot. Then after I got a message from him-he wanted to meet up with me for a writing project.

Now if you think that Maco is another up and coming fashion designer, then you havnt read the fashion fine print. Maco is a shoe designer known even internationally.  Last year he appeared on a coffee table book called Shoegasm that features cutting edge  shoe designs. Kasama lang naman dun sila Alexander Mcqueen and Christian Louboutin. No biggie. LOL.

Stolen borrowed from Maco’s instagram:

18002_10151181980622503_679416802_n

So anyway, our main project at that time was to do a company profile for his collection at Myth, a boutique in Greenbelt. I was mostly confused as to why he picked me to write his profile, but what I thought was a meeting turned out to be a fun dinner most about him whining (ahhhh, fame and good fortune can cause a lot of problems, Maco! *roll eyes LOL!)  and just talking about how he came about as a designer. Pretty inspiring I tell you.

I sent him my first draft and he commented a little bit here and there.  I revised the draft and a few days later I received an email reply with three words: I LOVE IT!

And with pride and joy I am pleased to show you this!
2013-02-10 17.05.38
I took this (fast!) when we were at Greenbelt a few months back. My mom was with me, and I proudly pointed it to her and said, “Ako nagsulat niyan!”.  Sorry its so blurry, but there’s what I wrote:

Maco Custodio is a designer  whose love for leather is interpreted in his innovative creations, combining art and design with structure and form. His roots can be traced with a background in the shoe making business, nevertheless he worked from the ground up. After obtaining a degree at the University of Santo Tomas in Industrial Design, he pursued further studies at the Philippine Footwear Academy and in China for shoe engineering. He spent his early working days in one of the biggest names in the shoe retail business, as well as in one of Manila’s known bespoke designer shoes label.

 

It was the fated collaboration with JC Buendia’s 2008 fashion show that served as a springboard for Maco’s career. The distinct quality and style that his footwear creations have demonstrated cannot be ignored. The world simply cannot be satiated of what Maco has to offer, judging by the sheer number of local and international fashion features. His aesthetics are bold and confident, inspired by both art deco and the bauhaus movement. His shoes brought something fresh with its silhouttes that Maco describes seemingly akin to furnitures, structural and graceful at the same time.  It is truly a wonder what this designer can do with the animal hide. In 2012, he has  taken the fashion industry again by surprise by venturing into bags and accessories, still with leather but now with playful tones and combined elements. Currently, he is taking challenges to the next  level by developing a new line of men shoes. Asked if there is something he still wants to do in the future, Maco would simply say, “More”. 

I know its trivial for some, my name doesnt even appear on the profile itself but what I feel great most about it is that Maco trusted me enough to write for him when all he saw was my blog. It reminded me that I can write-a little.

I wont go borderline mushy, Maco must be cringing now. Haha. Thanks for the opportunity though! And thank you Nio Manzano!

To God be the glory! In all things!

TBBMD

One thought on “Up on the Wall

  1. SOOOOO proud!!! Super proud!!! I should’ve taken a photo din when I last saw it, with matching chizu peace sign ek ek and all. 😀

    To more of these!!! I-expose pa kita more! 😛

Leave a Reply

